Eighteen students who gained outstanding A-level results last summer were presented with awards for academic excellence at the House of Lords on Thursday 7th April. One exceptional Foundation Course and GCSE student also received awards.

Bosworth Independent College is extremely proud that the top prize, the CIFE Gold Award, has been won by Vu Thao Dan (Ariadne) from Vietnam. Ariadne is now studying Law at the University of Durham, having obtained A* grades at A-level in History, Sociology, Economics and Mathematics. Ariadne was awarded the Model United Nations “Best Position Paper” in Yale NUS Model ASEAN. Prior to joining Bosworth, Ariadne worked as a volunteer for six months on Camp Blast 2013 – a camp for primary school children in Vietnam, where she was made “Head of Core Team”. Once in Northampton, she did voluntary work at the local central library throughout her A-level years and also taught Vietnamese to an English teacher. Bosworth regards Ariadne as an outstanding young woman both personally and academically and is very proud to have been able to facilitate her success.

Ariadne told us “I was surprised and delighted to receive a CIFE Academic Award and to discover it was the Gold Award was humbling. All of the other award winners have done so well and I feel very proud to be in their company at the House of Lords. I thoroughly enjoyed studying at Bosworth where the teachers and other staff always inspired me to do my very best and to keep up my other interests too. I felt cared for, as if part of a big family.”

In all, Bosworth students have received six awards: Science Award – Youssef Ahmed, College Prize Award – Camilla Li Ying Chong, Value Added Award – Georgia Jeffrey, GCSE Award – Corey Markie, Baroness Perry Award – Jin Zheng and the Gold Award as above. Details of each student and their individual achievements are in our Spring Newsletter, please take the time to read this online. Of the 19 Colleges who make up CIFE and the 20 prizes on offer, Bosworth has achieved 30% of the accolades and indeed this is the third year in a row they have maintained the Gold Award.


From the left: Ariadne, Jin Zheng, Fiona Pocock (Principal) Georgia, Lord Lexden, Youssef, Corey